Frequently Asked Question - I connected to the WiFi at a campground and now the connection says “FILTERED—Click to connect.” What does this mean?

I connected to the WiFi at a campground and now the connection says “FILTERED—Click to connect.” What does this mean?

The word “Filtered” appearing on the Control Panel is the Ranger’s way of informing the user that the connection to the internet hasn’t yet been completed. Typically, this is because the WiFi has some form of intro page, sometimes called a splash screen that needs to be complied with before the connection has been finalized. At campgrounds, airport, hotels, etc., such screens usually relate to accepting the network’s terms and conditions. They can also involve entering your room or site number of otherwise identifying you as a legitimate user.

Clicking on the “Click Here” link should open a new browser tab and take you to the splash screen. If it doesn’t automatically do that, then manually open a new tab and attempt to go to a URL such as Google.com. Most likely this will take you to the splash screen where you can complete the login process.